CSA roundup: week 6

CSA wk6

I chose to join a CSA this spring, and it was a great decision.  CSA is community-shared agriculture, which basically means people support local farms by giving them money (and often volunteering) in return for the farm’s products.  I split a half share with one of my co-workers, which gets me small portions of between 6-8 vegetables each week.  I also pay for an egg share, so we have fresh, cage free eggs all summer long too!  I love this experience because I get to support local farms, we get to eat organic, clean food, and it allows (ok…forces) me to experiment in the kitchen and try new things.

This is the 6th week of the CSA and so far it’s been going great and I’ve had a lot of fun.  I will share the goodies and my plans for them every week.

This week, I got the following vegetables:
1 zucchini
1 bulb fennel
1 head red leaf lettuce
2 sweet onions
1 bunch red radishes
1 bunch cilantro
1 bunch dinosaur kale
2 Chioggia beets

This is what I’m thinking for using these goodies:

I’ve been making big salads each week that we are able to eat throughout the week.  The salad is great as a side for dinner or for lunch.  So this week, the radishes and lettuce will go into the salad – I throw whatever vegetables I have on hand into this salad – tomatoes, corn, olives, cucumbers, etc.  We dress it with salt and olive oil – so simple!

I’ll be making zucchini and potato latkes, which will be a great side to a dinner this week – the potatoes are left over from last week’s share.

The onions are a weekly recurrence in the share and they get used all week, whenever I sauté or cook some meat, along with some garlic and olive oil.

For the kale, I plan on making chicken stuffed with cheese and the kale (typically I would use spinach, but why not substitute for kale).

While I am not a huge fan of cilantro, we’ll probably add it to the salsa we make this week (I picked up some beautiful tomatoes at the farmers market this morning for this – yum!).

That leaves me with the beets and the fennel.  I am stumped!  Right now, the leading options are using the beets in the salad or in some sort of slaw.  And caramelizing the fennel sounds like it comes out tasting really good.  If you have any ideas though, let me know!

Oh! Look at the cute critter I found on the kale!

caterpillar

Leave a Reply

