grilled chicken with broccoli and kale cream sauce

_DSC0015

For the most part, I eat healthy and actually like the taste of vegetables, whole grains, and fruits.  But I have a confession.  Every once in a while, I run into a vegetable I can’t stand.  And no matter how I cook it, it still tastes just like you’d expect a healthy veggie to taste – bland and gross.  Brussels sprouts are like that. I HATED them until I was about 19 (it didn’t help that my mom LOVES them, and I think she enjoyed torturing Sharon and I by cooking them. All. the.time.).  Even now, I only eat them if they are cooked with pine nuts and garlic.  Kale is another veggie like this, except I think this recipe changed that.  The cheese and the bacon give the kale such a rich flavor.  Definitely will be making kale this way again!

I made zucchini potato latkes as a side to this dish.  See, latkes are versatile.  I loved the flavor the zucchini added to these!

Grilled Chicken with Kale and Bacon Cream Sauce
(Serves 2)

2 chicken breasts
5-6 leaves kales, cut into 1 inch strips
3-4 strips of bacon, cut to 1 inch strips
½ cup water or chicken stock
2-3 laughing cow light cheese wedges
¼ cup cheddar cheese

Butterfly the chicken breasts and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Saute in a pan, flipping over once, until cooked.  Remove chicken from pan.  Place kale in pan, and add about half the water.  Bring the water to a boil and sauté/steam the kale.  In a separate pan, cook the bacon.  Add the cheese wedges and the cheddar cheese to the kale, along with the rest of the water.  Mix together until the cheese melts creating a cream sauce.  Add the bacon to the pan.    Serve the sauce over the chicken.

Leave a Reply

