grown up hot dogs

hot dog 1

I am  not a big fan of hot dogs.  I am sure you can understand why.  But, we picked up a package at the farmer’s market a few weeks ago.  I wasn’t as apprehensive about getting them there: they are 100% beef and made at a small, family owned farm that’s about 15 miles away.  Of course, they had ones with cheese, and J just couldn’t resist.  Usually J eats them and I pass, but, in the spirit of 4th of July, this time I figured I’d partake.  But that meant I’d have to take it up a notch.

I love this because not only does it make the hot dog feel very grown up, it uses a bunch of my veggie share.  Instead of caramelized onions, that mixture is made up of jalapeño peppers, onions, and fennel.  The fennel adds a really great flavor.  And I made a slaw of sorts with 2 different kinds of beets and carrots to add a crispy element.

I had some halumi cheese on hand, so I used that instead of regular cheese.  Halumi cheese originates from Cyprus, and it has a salty taste and chewy texture.  It gets soft after a couple minutes of heat and tastes amazing, even if just eaten on its own.

I was tempted to add bacon, but resisted the urge, although I know that everything tastes better with it.  Next time.

Grown Up Hot Dogs
(Serves 2-3)

2 carrots
1 beet
1 small chiogga beet
1 tbs lemon juice
1 tbs olive oil

Julienne the carrots and beets.  In a small bowl, toss vegetables with lemon juice and olive oil and salt and pepper to taste.

½ onion, minced
1 jalapeño pepper, minced
1 small fennel, cut into 2 inch slices
½ cup white cooking wine

In a small pan, sauté the onion and jalapeño pepper until brown.  Add the fennel to the pan and stir. Add wine and cook together for a few minutes until the fennel has caramelized.

¼ cup slaw
½ cup caramelized fennel mixture
3-4 hot dogs
3-4 hot dog buns
½ block Halumi cheese

Grill the hot dogs on the grill.  Cut the Halumi cheese block into thin slices, and cook at medium heat for about 1-2 minutes on each side.  Lay the cheese in the bun, top with hot dog, caramelized fennel mixture, and slaw.

hot dog

– food on,
Shirley

One thought on “grown up hot dogs

Leave a Reply

