slow cooker carnitas tacos

carnitas

When we got married a few months ago, I totally hijacked the wedding registry.  Even when J added a few electronics at Best Buy, I made sure to throw in my fair share of kitchen and cooking gifts.  One item I never bought on my own was a slow cooker. If I knew how much I would enjoy it I would have bought one many many years ago.  So thank god for a wedding and awesome guests, I was ready to use my slow cooker.

I had a couple of great dishes, but found that most slow cooker recipes call for big shoulders or cuts of meat, and well, with just the two of us, we got sick of the food after day 3 of leftovers.  So, I decided to try to cook a pork tenderloin in the slow cooker.  I figured that although already very soft, the slow cooker would make the meat flavorful and easily shredded.  And what better way of using the pork then in some tacos.

Slow cooker carnitas tacos
(serves 2-3)

1 pork tenderloin
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp coriander
1 tsp salt
1 tsp adobo
1/2 tsp garlic powder
3-4 bay leaves
4 garlic cloves, smashed
2-3 cups chicken or beef stock
your favorite taco ingredients, including tortillas, cheese, lettuce, refried beans, guacamole, etc.

In a small bowl, mix all the spices (with the exception of the bay leaves).  Take the spice mix and rub it all over the pork.  Place the pork in the slow cooker, add the bay leaves and the garlic.  Add enough chicken or beef stock to cover the pork.  Let cook on low, for 8-10 hours.  After 8-10 hours, remove the pork from the slow cooker.  Using two forks, shred the meat.  Place the shredded meat in a bowl, and mix with 1/2 cup of broth.  Assemble tacos using pork and your favorite taco ingredients.

One thought on “slow cooker carnitas tacos

  1. Pingback: Taco Tuesday: Carnitas | Tacos and Tunes

Leave a Reply

