back to basics: pickles

pickles
As I mentioned here, I was incredibly excited to see pickling cucumbers in my csa share a couple months back.  I have a ton of great memories from time spent with my grandparents.  Since my love for my food is only second to the love of those around me, it’s no surprise that many of my memories have to do with food.  The giant salads my grandfather used to make (as a kid, it was the only salad I would eat), the pitas with chocolate spread I could eat at their house (because my parents tried their best to keep us eating healthy when we were at home), and of course, my grandmother’s pickles.  She spoiled me rotten by making pickles from scratch.  There was always a jar of pickles in the fridge for me to pick at when we went to their house.

Since I finally had pickles that were up to par at home, I eat them as a snack, serve them as a side to sandwiches or burgers, and even added to a salad to give it a bit of a kick.

Pickles
(Makes 2 jars)

3 pickling cucumbers, cut into slices or long strips (quarters)
4-5 sprigs dill
4 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tbs red pepper flakes
2 tbs salt
2 cups white vinegar
3 cups water

Boil the water and set in the fridge to cool.  In 2 mason jars, place cucumbers and 1 sprig of dill each.  Chop the rest of the dill finely.  Once the water has cooled, mix together the vinegar, water, salt, garlic, dill and red pepper flakes.  Pour the mixture into the mason jars.  Close the jars tightly and place in the refrigerator.  Allow pickles to sit for approximately a week before using.

pickles

– food on,
Shirley

2 thoughts on “back to basics: pickles

  1. Pingback: csa roundup: week 14 | foodyventures

Leave a Reply

