csa roundup: week 14

wk14

This week’s basket is loaded as usual!  This is what we got:

1 Italian eggplant
1 bag potatoes
2 indian lemon cucumbers
1 bag red slicing tomatoes
1 bag orange carrots
1 spaghetti squash
2 sweet onion

My co-worker and I split this, so he got the eggplant right off the bat.

I’ll be making spaghetti squash with Bolognese for dinner this week.

The potatoes, onions, tomatoes, and carrots get used all over the place, as usual.

The indian lemon cucumbers were new to me.  I just cut one up and tasted it and I think I found a new vegetable I don’t like!  I would discribe it as a mix between a cucumber and an orange.  It has the texture combination of an apple and a cucumber, but tastes like an orang-y cucumber.  Gross!  So we’ll see what I do with that guy.

As for last week, I made a loaded salad using the corn, tomatoes, pickles, and a few other vegetables I had on hand.

The tomatoes and parsley were used to make salsa that got used all week long in meals.

The cabbage is still in the fridge, but destined for some fish tacos this week.

And the watermelon!  I cut it up this weekend and discovered it is a yellow watermelon! I didn’t even know that was possible!!!  It was just as tasty as a red watermelon, and it’s great to have that in the fridge to snack on.

Hope everyone is having a great week!

– veggie on
shirley

Leave a Reply

