csa roundup: week 15

csa wk15

Talk about taking me out of my elements.  After getting me settled into a usual share for the last few weeks, this csa was a curveball.  Of course it was very welcomed – I was getting tired of the typical tomatoes, carrots, corn, onion, and potatoes baskets. Having to google and search Pinterest for several items this week is definitely a win.

I got:

1 bag mixed beans
1 piece eight ball zucchini
2 ears corn
1 bag Jalapeño peppers
1 bag mixed sweet peppers
1 bag baby eggplants
1 bag garlic
1 bag tomatoes

Here’s what I am thinking for this share

The beans will be sautéed as a side to dinner, or we’ll use them in an Asian dish.

The zucchini and corn are going into dinner tonight, I’ll be making zucchini and corn fritters with those, so if it turns out good, I’ll be posting a recipe!

The garlic, tomatoes and Jalapeños get used all over the place and I love having them fresh instead of purchasing them at the store.

I am a huge fan of the sweet peppers.  They had the slightest spice taste to them so it’s perfect.  I used some in a Shrimp pad thai I made yesterday and plan  on using the rest for some cheesesteaks I’ll be making soon.

Lastly, I am going to treat the eggplants like they are a large eggplant, and will be frying them and serving them with some Halumi cheese.  If you’ve never tried that, do it.  So simple, yet so tasty!

As for last week’s meals, the carrots, tomatoes, potatoes, and onions got used all over the place.  My co-worker got the eggplant.  I made some awesome Bolognese with tomato sauce that we had over the spaghetti squash. And the indian lemon cucumbers were sooo gross I couldn’t eat them.  Hey, you win some and you lose some.

veggie on
– shirley

Leave a Reply

