shrimp pad thai

pad thai 1

I have a confession for you guys.  And no, this one isn’t about being able to eat a pint of ice cream at any given moment, or the fact that I eat dinner just so that I don’t feel guilty about the brownie (or 6) I’ll eat after.  This one is about my obsession with Pinterest.  To this day, Sharon refuses to sign up, because she has seen how debilitating it’s been for me.  I’m sorry but I can’t help but spend hours scrolling through boards, planning my next meal or dessert, and of course don’t forget about my (dream) house that will have a 2 person shower, a giant meticulously organized kitchen, and of course a back yard pool, waterfall and jacuzzi.  I can’t help it.

One of the discoveries of Pinterest is this dish.  I was inspired by it because it looked so good, and involved flavors that I liked, but was not used to grouping together.  Shortly before I found this inspiration, we found a local Thai restaurant that. is. the. bomb.  So this dish only motivated me to recreate their tasty pad thai.  If you haven’t had Thai food before, check it out or make some at home.  It is the perfect mixture of other Asian flavors, with a home-y and comfort food feel to it.  Think of it as a chinese food take out kind of night, kicked up a notch.

Shrimp pad thai
(makes 2 servings)

8 ounces flat rice noodles
1 tbs brown sugar
1 tbs fresh lime juice, plus wedges for serving
3 tbs soy sauce
1/4 cup water
1/4 tsp  Sriracha sauce (adjust based on spice tolerance)
2 teaspoons coconut oil
1 red pepper (I used sweet pepper) cut into thin, 3 inch pieces
1 jalepano, thinly sliced
2 large eggs, light beaten (optional)
10 large shrimps
1/4 cup chopped peanuts or cashews

Prepare noodles according to package instructions and drain.  In a small bowl, whisk together brown sugar, lime juice, soy sauce and Sriracha.  In a wok (or saute pan), melt the coconut oil over high heat.  Add jalepano pepper, pepper, and any other vegetables you want and cook for about 1 minute, mixing frequently.  Move vegetables out of direct heat, and add eggs.  Scramble the eggs together and continously mix until the eggs are cooked.  Then, mix the vegetables into the egg, and add the shrimp.  Once the shrimp are cooked (or if using frozen shrimp, until they are hot), add the sauce and noodles.  Top pad thai with peanutes or cashews and a slice of lime.

pad thai 2

food on
– shirley

Leave a Reply

