eggplant, halloumi and tomato bites

eggplant, halloumi, tomato bites

So in the last week or so, everybody has been saying how excited they are for fall.  I’m tempted to join in, but I am resisting.  I know that as soon as the temperatures fall 10 more degrees, the leaves start changing colors, and I shiver on my way to work in the morning, I’ll be wishing it was still summer.  So for now, I’m holding onto summer as much as possible, and that includes this recipe, which is super fresh and uses local and organic eggplants and tomatoes.

I mentioned (my obsession with) halloumi cheese on the blog about 2 months ago.  They have it at Trader Joe’s now, for about 60% cheaper than what I used to get it at Whole Foods for. Total win in my book.  About a month ago, TJ’s was stocked out and I was afraid they were getting rid of it for good.  Thankfully it reappeared, but now I buy a pack every.single.week so I don’t regret it as much if it disappears again.  If you haven’t tried it yet, do it.  Trust me!

This is a super easy recipe and this is a perfect summery snack, or, like in my case, a refreshing side to dinner.

Eggplant, halloumi and Tomato Bites
(makes approximately 6-8 pieces)

1 small to medium sized eggplant
1 package Halloumi cheese
1 tomato
1 egg, lightly beaten
1 cup panko breadcrumbs
oil for frying

Bring oil to high heat.  Peel the eggplant and slice into thin, 1/2 inch thick slices.  When oil is hot, dip eggplant in egg mixture, then into breadcrumbs, and place in oil for frying.  When bottom is browned, about 4 minutes, flip over and repeat.  Remove from oil onto a paper towel. Repeat with all eggplant slices.  Slice tomato slices into 1/4 inch thick slices.  Slice Halloumi cheese into 1/4-1/2 inch thick slices, approximately similar in size to your eggplant.  Place cheese in a sauté pan under medium heat.  The cheese will begin to soften as it cooks.  Flip over after approximately three minutes, and remove from heat after another 3 minutes.

Arrange the bites so that the eggplant is at the bottom, then the cheese, and finally the tomato.  Serve immediately because the halloumi cheese tastes best when it is hot and soft.

halloumi eggplant tomato bites2

Food on
– Shirley

Leave a Reply

