spanish style couscous with carrots, peppers and chorizo

couscous

I don’t know what it was about last week, but I was feeling lazy.  Unusually lazy.  It may have been the 3 day weekend that proceeded it, the cooling temperatures that had me wishing I could stay in bed all day, or my out-of-state 8am meeting on a Friday. Ew.  My laziness kept my workouts and runs to a minimum, and my desire to cook was lacking as  well.  While at times like this I am tempted to eat out, I try my best to avoid this, because, well, food at home is much cheaper, and quiet often, tastier.

Not only was I able to whip this up very quickly, it also used a few random items I had in the fridge. It made a great filling side to some chicken I made, and I made a whole box of couscous, so we had some left over for lunch the next day. In case you’re wondering about this couscous versus the smaller kernels of couscous, I prefer this kind, known as Israeli couscous, because in my experience it feels heartier and stays moist.

Spanish style Couscous with carrots, peppers and chorizo
(makes 3-4 servings)

3 oz. dry chorizo, cubed
1 cup carrots, shredded
1-2 sweet (or regular) pepper
1 jalapeno pepper
1 package couscous
1/2 tbs adobo seasoning
1 tsp cumin powder
1/2 tsp paprika
salt and pepper, to taste

Cook the couscous according to package directions.  In a saute pan, with about 2 tbs of olive oil and under medium heat, cook together the peppers, carrots, and chorizo.   Cook until the pepper and carrots begin to soften and brighten, approximately 10 minutes.  When the vegetables and chorizo are cooked, add cumin powder, adobo seasoning, paprika, and salt and pepper.  Add to couscous and mix well.

couscous2

food on,
– shirley

One thought on “spanish style couscous with carrots, peppers and chorizo

Leave a Reply

