baked & breaded tilapia

IMG_0582
I can’t say enough great things about this meal.  This is the quickest filling dish that I have ever cooked.  K and I walked in the apartment this evening, and from the time it took to take these filets out of the shopping bag and onto our plates, just 10 minutes had passed.  And that was with a side of roasted asparagus.  Can you imagine?!

Another great thing about this meal is that it is very versatile.  I tend to favor tilapia because I like the taste and I think the portion size is ideal.  However, I’ve made this [successfully] with scrod and cod as well.  I use Italian-style bread crumbs with the fish, because, well, it’s an easy fix for when I’m lazy.  But I do think it’s the perfect seasoning for this gentle fish.  However, you can definitely use unseasoned bread crumbs and season the fish with salt and pepper however you wish.

Season with bread crumbs.  Add butter.  Pop into the oven for 7 MINUTES.  Dinner is served!

Baked & Breaded Tilapia
(Serves 2-3)

4-5 filets of tilapia, about 1 pound
about 1 cup italian-style bread crumbs
1/4 cup salted butter, diced into small pieces

Preheat oven to 360 F.  Line a baking dish with aluminum foil.

Arrange the filets flat on the baking dish, side by side.  Add a thin layer of bread crumbs evenly on top of all the filets.  Then add the small pieces of butter over the bread crumbs, evenly spacing the butter throughout each filet.

Bake in the oven for 7 minutes and serve immediately.

– food on,
Sharon

IMG_0590

Leave a Reply

