blueberry and white chocolate chip scones

IMG_0664
I’ve never been a big fruit eater.  My close friends and family know that I never mix fruit with anything savory.  Or really, mix fruit with anything.  Strawberry ice cream? Nooo!  Oranges in my salad?  Omg!  Most of the time, when I see recipes that incorporate some sort of fruit into something savory, I cringe a little bit inside.  (Oops.)  I’m sure it is delicious for most people, but I just can’t do it!  The few fruit themed recipes that you’ll see on here have been tested and approved by those around me.  I rarely try them.  And this recipe was not going to be an exception.  K picked up some blueberries (his favorite) this week and requested that I make him another favorite of his – scones.  I knew white chocolate chips would mesh well with the blueberries, so I made my way to the kitchen and started baking!

K loved the end result and do I dare say that I liked it too?  The consistency of the scones was perfect – not too soft like a cookie, and not too dense like so many other scones that you pick up at the grocery store.  The blueberries kept their shape and the white chocolate chips were just the extra touch of sweetness that was needed.  K was happy and breakfast was ready for the entire week!  Success!

Blueberry and White Chocolate Chip Scones
(Makes 8 scones)

3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup sugar
1 stick butter, at room temperature
2 eggs
1/2 cup milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup white chocolate chips
1/2 cup fresh blueberries

Preheat over to 425 F.

In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar.

Cut the butter into small cubes.  Slowly add the butter to the dry ingredients and mix well.

In another large bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, and vanilla extract.  In a few batches, add the dry mixture into the wet mixture.  A doughy mixture should begin to form.  Fold in the white chocolate chips and blueberries.  Move the mixture to a floured surface and knead to combine.  Shape the dough into eight equal pieces and lay them onto a flat baking tray.

Place the scones into the freezer, uncovered, for about 10 minutes.  Remove the scones and place them directly in the oven.  Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until golden brown.

bake on,
Sharon

IMG_0657

Leave a Reply

